Final Thoughts on Bordeaux Life

d53bb014-cff9-4ee8-a757-566bfa43518f.jpeg

Visiting Bordeaux and living there are two distinctly different experiences. As tourists, most people spend a limited time in the city and push to see as much as possible in less than a week. When you actually live in the community, you get a different perspective, understanding you shouldn’t really schedule big events every day. Instead, you have shopping and laundry to schedule and need time to just kick back and watch Netflix and CNN.

In the seven weeks I resided in the city, I learned to appreciate some wonderful aspects of my “neighborhood.”

Within my block, there was everything I needed. From the corner Carefour market to the Colorit shop for nails. One of the best French restaurants was just downstairs; L’Escorial is only open from noon to 2 p.m. and 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. Customers “in the know” pack the place at those hours. I was fortunate to hear about it from my British friends.

The Opera Patisserie was my favorite neighborhood stop for coffee and the VERY BEST “fondant chocolat.” Yes, it became addictive and I know in my heart I will never find anything in comparison to it in the U.S. (It may be responsible for a few extra pounds here and there!)

C8F012EB-8CF5-4574-AF6E-719B7A263354

5F9C56F0-4E4B-4121-AC03-3D5EC7DF6D17Bordeaux is a city of markets, whether farmers, antiques or even books. Just a block south of the apartment, a book fair popped up on a regular basis. It was always interesting to browse through the titles, as well as old record albums. On one morning, I was especially pleased to see Hillary’s book, “Mon histoire,” on sale — only 3 Euros! At a “pop up” antique market, I was thrilled to find several handkerchiefs (which will be added to my fairly large collection).

fullsizerender 3-4

I was impressed with the number of residents who choose two-wheeled transportation. The streets are narrow and busy, so bycicles and motorcycles are a popular option to the auto. And, the city makes parking accommodations available for them, everywhere.

845D391A-2655-4159-B611-DBB0D2CEB18C

There is so much “hardscape” in the city with blocks of stone buildings, archways and monuments. That’s why it was such a pleasant and welcome surprise to come across Jordin Public Garden in the center of old city Bordeaux. It was created in 1746 on nearly 30 acres of green space and features a pond, children’s playground and small theatre for the “famous” French Guignol Guérin puppet show. Unfortunately, the Natural History Museum on the perimeter of the park was closed for renovation on the day of my visit. Even so, it was so nice to take a break from the busy streets outside and enjoy a walk in the park.

Thanks to the wonderful staff of the Office de Tourisme et des Congrès de Bordeaux Métropole, I experienced so many different adventures in Bordeaux and the surrounding area. They provided me with a wide range of options to customize my visit and truly were my “partner” in helping me make the most of my time there. Even the tourism staff in Bergerac were anxious to help me explore their community.

2130B0D2-D22C-46D3-8871-3F554C485782
My last Bordeaux “adventure” was attending the opening night of l’Opéra de Bordeaux at the magnificent Grand Théâtre (1780). At the intermission of “La vie Parisienne,” which included dancers from le Ballet de l’Opéra de Bordeaux, the audience was invited outside for a dance performance in the historic square. It was a magical evening and the perfect ending to my time in Bordeaux!

AB010EA1-8B79-466C-AD58-B304A23AC0F3

2 thoughts on “Final Thoughts on Bordeaux Life”

Leave a comment